After the Drink.Eat.Play Cupcake Challenge – Recap and Pix

7 Feb


Hello Cupcake fans!

As many of you know, the annual Drink.Eat.Play Cupcake Challenge went down at the Renaissance Hotel in Hollywood this past Saturday.  We were in charge of baking 650 cupcakes PER flavor = 1300 cupcakes total (we did a Chocolate Salted Caramel and a Pineapple Upside Down)l!  We were lucky enough to be able to bake about 96 every 12-15 minutes so the baking part was a breeze.  The Salted Caramel frosting also went by pretty darn fast!  I think the longest part of everything had to have been filling the cupcakes with the pineapple filling.  I cooked this down from scratch so of course the real pineapple chunks were too big to fit through my filling tip so we had to spoon them in by hand one at a time.  Thank goodness Stephanie was up for that task!  I would have pulled my hair out!

I do have to mention the boxes I ordered online to be delivered with a promised delivery date via UPS was Friday.  Lets just say Friday came and went and NO boxes.  Not to mention UPS had the WORST customer service ever!  So from now on, Goodie Girls is boycotting UPS and will only ship Fedex from now on!  Saturday morning I called every open bakery near my house begging for someone to sell me some bakery boxes with no luck.  I then found this AMAZING restaurant supply store called Surfas in West Los Angeles.  They had mounds of boxes and so I jetted down there!  To my surprise, this place was unbelievable!!  It looked like a bakers heaven and not to mention it was at such discounted prices!  I scooped up more then enough boxes at less than $.90 a piece which was much cheaper then I was buying them for online anyhow!  Not to mention the customer service there was incredible!  THANK YOU SURFAS FOR BEING THERE FOR US!

Ok…now back to the kitchen, boxed everything up and off to the Challenge.  We got there fairly early and set up.  I couldn’t believe how many amazing displays there were and different kinds of cupcakes.  We were lucky enough to be placed next to the amazing Holli from Hollicakes (http://www.hollicakesblog.com/) and Double D’s (http://doubledcupcakes.com).  Such a pleasure to work beside both these incredibly talented individuals!

When the doors opened, the true cupcake connoisseur’s came through.  They formed lines out the doors and filled their plates, boxes, trays, or whatever they brought with them up with the most amazing little treats.  I have to say I was truly impressed with what people brought to carry these cupcakes in!  They definitely

weren’t knew to this annual event!  Even though the votes aren’t counted yet for winners, I think we won either way from how many people came back to tell us how amazing our cupcakes were.  We even woke up with our inbox full of orders people wanted because they had attended the event!!!

Thank you again to everyone who came out and hope to see you all very soon and to all the new cupcake bakers we were proud to meet, we hope to see you very soon!

GG

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Responses to “After the Drink.Eat.Play Cupcake Challenge – Recap and Pix”

  1. holli February 7, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    You guys were amazing! Had such a blast!
    <3hollicakes

    • Goodie Girls February 7, 2011 at 11:57 am #

      You too!!! I think we had the best table neighbor! 🙂

  2. Geni - Sweet and Crumby March 8, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    Congratulations on being able to crank out that many cupcakes?!!! How on earth did you make 96 every 15 minutes?!!! The flavors you made sound divine and oh how I wish I could have used the ticket you offered. How kind! 🙂 Have a great week!

  3. Tammy McLeod March 13, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    That is a serious amount of cupcakes. I can’t even begin to imagine. Great job.

Leave a comment