Valentine’s Day Cupcakes

14 Jan

Well, it’s that time of year again and boy do I love Valentine’s Day.  I don’t think it’s because of why a lot of other people like it.  I love it because I am addicted to whenever I get to make cupcakes that SPARKLE!!!  And I love how the day seems to be so uplifting and people tend to be filled with joy!  And not to mention my favorite color is pink, so it’s the one time of year I don’t seem like a freak with too much pink!  Yes…I love Valentine’s Day!

A couple nights ago I decided to make my famous Valentine’s Day spread of cupcakes for our promo.  I wanted to share some of the shots with you before the promo actually comes out as I just am excited and can’t hold it in so who better to share with then my fav peeps on my blog!!!   These cupcakes consist of the most amazing chocolate by my favorite brand Scharffen Berger.  The frosting is a fresh Organic Wild Strawberry flavoring and some with Coconut.  I was going to try and top with some chocolate covered strawberries, but unfortunately strawberries aren’t in season yet and the ones I found are still a little unripe for my liking.  The hearts I made out of homemade fondant (message me if you want a recipe) and just taste scrumptious!!  I gave them out yesterday to all my friends and a few shops to taste and some of them asked for a bowl of the hearts just to snack on!!  🙂

Hope you enjoy… and let me know if you need some in your house for Valentine’s Day.  We will have an amazing promo to follow!

Happy Friday…GG

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 Responses to “Valentine’s Day Cupcakes”

  1. sherie zucker January 14, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    I have never been a fan of fondant so your recipe must be awesome if everyone liked it.
    The last picture of the cupcake with the puff on top looks like marshmallow. I would love to have your fondant recipe and the puff one as well. Thanks.

  2. sherie zucker January 14, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    I’ve never been a big fan of fondant, so your recipe must be awesome. What is on top o the last cupcake, marshmallow? Would love your recipe for fondant since it got so many good reviews. I’m new to your site and so far love it. Thanks

    • Goodie Girls January 14, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

      Hello Sherie,

      The last one is actually a Strawberry Frosting as well. I think it may just look a little white from the camera shot! As far as the fondant, here is the recipe! A lot of people tend to add Corn Syrup or something else to make it a bit more pliable, but I don’t like those ingredients and I try to stay away from corn syrup. I didn’t find it hard to work with, in fact, I used it straight out of the mixer and it worked just fine without even letting it sit in the fridge. Hope you enjoy!

      Ingredients:
      1 tablespoon of butter (enough to just cover your hands with)
      1 (16 ounce) package miniature marshmallows
      4 tablespoons water
      1 teaspoon vanilla extract
      2 pounds confectioners’ sugar, divided (reserve 1 cup outside of this and set aside)

      Directions:

      Place the marshmallows in a large microwave-safe bowl, and microwave on High for 30 seconds to 1 minute to start melting the marshmallows. Carefully stir the water and vanilla extract into the hot marshmallows, and stir until the mixture is smooth. Transfer to a mixer bowl. If you have a stand mixer, use the hook attachment to slowly beat in the confectioners’ sugar (if not a paddle attachment will do), a cup at a time, until you have a sticky dough. Reserve 1 cup of powdered sugar for kneading. The dough will be very stiff.

      Rub your hands thoroughly with the butter and begin kneading the sticky dough. As you knead, the dough will become workable and pliable. Turn the dough out onto a working surface dusted with confectioners’ sugar and continue kneading until the fondant is smooth and no longer sticky to the touch, 5 to 10 minutes.
      Form the fondant into a ball, wrap it tightly in plastic wrap, and refrigerate overnight. To use, allow the fondant to come to room temperature, and roll it out onto a flat surface dusted with confectioners’ sugar. Although I have used it right away and worked fine. This will keep up to 2 weeks in the fridge as long as packaged tight.

      ENJOY!!

      ❤ GG

    • Goodie Girls January 14, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

      Also THANK YOU for visiting my site and making new friends!! 🙂

  3. StayCalmCupcake January 20, 2011 at 6:14 am #

    Hi!

    My name is Jill – I have an online cupcake shop called “Stay Calm Cupcake”. I just wanted to say that I LOVE the work you do! After browsing through your photos and posts, I got some really great ideas for flavors. Your Valentine’s cupcakes are so adorable too!

    I always enjoy finding other bloggers with passions of my own. Stay sweet and keep up the great cupcaking!!

    Jill
    “Stay Calm Have a Cupcake”
    http://www.fontgirl.wordpress.com

    • Goodie Girls January 20, 2011 at 7:17 am #

      What a sweet comment to get! Thank you very much!! I am going to go take a peek at your site now! 🙂 I just love baking and I do local catering the Los Angeles area. Never actually thought I would, but after so many requests from friends and such…well I just sort of fell into it and is the best thing that has ever happened! Hope you have a fantastic rest of your week and I am off to view your blog!

      Cheers!

      GG

  4. Tammy McLeod January 21, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    Awesome that you gave us some cool ideas a month in advance! Love the look of the coconut in that photo.

Leave a Reply

