Cupcake Lollipops

2 Mar

Wow…these are adorable!!  First off I have to say is make sure you have helping hands.  I did this by myself and it took me a very long time.  Also, make sure you get a Styrofoam board to stick the lollipops in to dry.  I did the mistake and read “helpful tips” and they said I could turn a colander upside down and use that, but the problem is, you can only do about 5 at a time this way and you have to wait for them to dry and then by that time, your melted candy coating in the bowls is also drying up.   Also, another tip is to try and find candy or chocolate for the “base” of the cupcake that is pretty thin.  Mine was too thick and made the cupcake lose the shape of the base I had cut them in.

But I do have to say that all in all, these were a success!  Everyone loved them!  Not only the design, but the cake was actually very good.  No one could believe how moist the cake was!   I followed the recipe from Bakerella.  She gives the most amazing step by step process to do.  I did, however, end up getting toward the end and the cake was turning to mush because it was getting warm so instead of putting it back in the freezer for 10 minutes, I rolled them into balls and made those lollipop cupcake balls!  Both were just as cute!  🙂  I also stopped by Michaels and picked up the Lollipops and Treat bags with ribbons.  To me they presented very well like this.  If you were going to do them for a party, I would just suggest pouring some colored sugar in a bowl/vase/etc and standing them upright with no bags.

Let me know if any of you try them!!!!

4 Responses to “Cupcake Lollipops”

  1. unabridgedgirl March 3, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    Oh my goodness. I am trying this! I am! And I will let you know.

    • Goodie Girl March 3, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

      Oooh…PELASE PLEASE do!! I love to hear the feedback!

  2. happytrees08 March 4, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    those are awesome!

Leave a Reply

