A 24 Hour Cupcake Machine?

1 Mar

I have to admit when I first heard the amazing Sprinkles Cupcakery was going to install a 24 hour “ATM” sort of machine to dispense cupcakes I was a little  impressed!!  As you all know, Sprinkles has always been a leader of the cupcake industry and I always give them props for being a step ahead and really setting trends.  They have incredible flavors and I have always looked up to them.  They have always been such an inspiration to me personally and starting my own Cupcakery, Goodie Girls.

After thinking about this idea for a while, I am a little concerned as to this new idea coming into play.  To me, a Cupcakery is supposed to be the freshest product.  You are supposed to be able to come into your local Cupcakery and become a regular and get to know each other as a family.  To walk into a Cupcakery is an experience in itself from the smell of the amazing baked goods being baked to the color scheme and design of the cute little shops.  These make for such great family memories and traditions.  Don’t get me wrong, I definitely give props to Sprinkles making this move from a business decision standpoint.  I bet there are PLENTY of people who are out and about and crazy that sweet little cupcake at midnight or the customer in the middle of the day that feels guilty grabbing a 2nd cupcake and so not to be seen they can rush on over to the “ATM” style cupcake dispenser to not be seen or judged. Haha…I definitely could imagine myself doing that!

But in reality, I down right feel our sense of community is being diluted with this “fast food” style eating and we don’t get to sit and enjoy the conversation.  We are all so rushed and looking for the fastest ways to get from point A to point B.  My favorite memories are encounters with people who I would have never met just by standing in line, eating at a restaurant instead of fast take out, or talking with the sales associates behind the counters who in turn can offer some amazing suggestions of what is the new flavors to get.  I probably wouldn’t have tried half of the food I have gotten if it weren’t for recommendations from the employees who work there.

I am really torn on whether I think it’s a good decision or bad.  From a business standpoint I think it’s such a cool new trendy idea, its setting a new style, and it’s definitely press worthy.  From a personal standpoint, I don’t think I would ever use it.  I would rather go into the store, stand in line, experience it in a whole…

I am curious to know what are your thoughts?  Do you think it’s a good idea to install something like this?

7 Responses to “A 24 Hour Cupcake Machine?”

  1. sasstag.com March 1, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    I agree with your concerns about losing any sense of community we have left. Its so refreshing when people take their time to drink a cup of coffee IN a cafe or have a sandwich “for here” instead of “to go”. We are always in a rush and need to slow down sometimes! However, I think it would be really cool for a Cupcakery to have this as an option for customers who want a late-night snack after the shop is closed.

  2. Chrissy Pittman March 1, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    I like the idea. I am the person who would much rather use the ATM at the bank, even during business hours, than going inside. It’s just easier. I have a toddler so sometimes I would rather just skip doing something than have to go through the hassle of getting her out of her carseat and dealing with whatever meltdown is about to ensue and then the fight to get her back into her seat. The people who still like to have the interaction still go inside the bank even if they have to pass the ATM to get there.

    • Rebecca Lira March 4, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

      I am 50/50 on this….I think it is cool for people who want a cupcake at any hour of the day or night. But, would the product be fresh? No interaction with another live person…I think it has some good points, and maybe not so good….Just my thought~~~

  3. Lori August 4, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    I think it’s awful…it’s just another reminder that we are getting so impersonal in this day and age. I would rather come into your shop and chat with you and get to know the people behind the fabulous cupcakes. It’s just another electronic substitution for human interaction

  4. Ashley Berthelot September 2, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    My initial response was very similiar to yours. WOW, THAT’S GENIUS. I do have to agree that I think people rely to heavily on “fast” everything that they don’t even stop to enjoy what’s around them anymore. I’d much rather take extra minutes out of my day to stop into a bakery that smells completely delicious than stand at an ATM (probably located next to a garbage can that smells revolting) and have a chat with the people who work hard to bring these goodies to the community!

  5. Lisa Jey Davis (@LisaJey) April 28, 2013 at 2:37 pm #

    I love to bake and cook, and you are so cute and inspiring! I found you because Teens Wanna Know wrote to interview a client of mine, and well– I watched some of their interviews. Great job. Love the blog.. and i LOVE cupcakes. I may have to try baking some… But what I want to know is how do you maintain the essence of a Peanut Butter & Jelly sandwich in a cupcake? I’m gonna’ have to come and try some! LOL

    • Goodie Girls April 1, 2014 at 4:20 pm #

      Awe thank you!! :) The PB&J really tastes just like one! We do a buttermilk cake, fill it with grape jelly and top with PB frosting!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

